State Minimum Requirement:

The minimum amount of liability insurance you must have on your policy is:

  • $15,000 for injury/death to one person.
  • $30,000 for injury/death to more than one person.
  • $5,000 for damage to property.

Car Insurance Deductible:

Let’s say your deductible is $1,000. You’ll need to pay that first thousand before your insurance begins covering the remainder of the cost of the accident, up to your limit.

What Does Liability Car Insurance Typically Cover?

Liability car insurance covers damages to another person resulting from an accident you cause. One of the most basic types of auto insurance coverage, liability is also one of the few coverage options that’s mandatory in.

What Is SR-22?

An SR-22 is a certificate of financial responsibility that ensures that you are meeting your state’s car insurance requirements, and that you will continue to meet these requirements for a specified amount of time (generally 3 years).

Do I Need To File An SR-22?

You are most likely to be required to file an SR-22 if:

  • You are convicted of a DUI/DWI.
  • You are found to be driving while uninsured.
  • You are involved in a serious injury-causing accident.
  • You have a large number of points on your driving record.
  • Often, an SR-22 is required for reinstatement of a suspended or revoked license. Your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles will inform you if you need to file an SR-22.

Good Driver Discount Policy

Because of Prop 103, California law requires insurance companies to offer a 20% discount to good drivers. You qualify for this Good Driver Discount policy in California if:

  1. You have been licensed to drive for the past 3 years.
  2. During the past 3 years, you have not had more than 1 point on your driving record due to a violation(s).
  3. During the past 3 years, you have not taken traffic school because of a traffic violation more than once.
  4. During the past 3 years, you have not been the at-fault driver in an accident that resulted in injury or death.

Getting Pulled Over in California

If you are pulled over by a police officer, you must show your proof of insurance, along with your driver’s license and car registration.

If you are pulled over in California without proof of car insurance or any other form of financial responsibility, you may face the following fines:

  • $100 – $200 for your first offense
  • $200 – $500 for each offense within 3 years after your first offense

Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury Coverage

Protects you if you’re in an accident caused by a driver who either has no insurance or just not enough insurance. Your insurance carrier pays for damages you incur, including medical expenses and lost wages.